Christian Frankl

Drum Major

Drum Major CHRISTIAN FRANKL is a fifth-year student studying Political Science, Ethics and Public Policy, and Music from Ames, Iowa. He was a member of the Alto Saxophone section for two seasons and was an undergraduate staff member during the 2021-2022 season. Christian was selected as the Drum Major of the Hawkeye Marching Band in the spring of 2022. After performing with the HMB virtually in the fall of 2020, Christian traveled with the band in the 2021-2022 season to Indianapolis for the Big Ten Championship game, to Orlando for the Citrus Bowl, and to Nashville for the Music City Bowl in 2022 as Drum Major. Prior to becoming a Hawkeye, Christian attended Ames High School under the band direction of Chris Ewan and Andrew Buttermore. He served as a drum major for two seasons with the AHS marching band and was an Iowa All-State choral musician.

While being a member of the HMB is Christian’s favorite part about being a Hawkeye, it is not his only involvement on campus. He is a voice student in the School of Music with Professor Stephen Swanson and is a member of the choir Kantorei. Christian was elected as a senator of the University of Iowa Student Government and is a member of Phi Alpha Delta Pre-Law Fraternity. He is also a brother of the Iota Gamma Chapter of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia. Christian studied Politics and Law at the University of Edinburgh in Edinburgh, Scotland, through the UI Regents Semester program during the spring of 2022. Outside of school, Christian has interned with the Iowa Attorney General’s Office, worked on a United States Senate campaign, and interned with a foreign policy research foundation in Washington DC. Christian loves band, travel, soccer, and being a Hawkeye!

Current + Former Drum Majors of the Hawkeye Marching Band

2022-Present Christian Frankl
2021 Amanda Thomas
2019-2020  Michael Janssen 
2017-2018  Analisa Iole
2015-2017  Isaac Anderson
2012-2014  Quentin Marquez
2009-2011  Joe Piasecki
2007-2008  Chet Aliga
2005-2006  Jason Hillenbrand
2003-2004  Dameon Place
1999-2002  Pres Maxson
1996-1998  Chad Smith
1994-1995  Charlie Taylor
1992-93  Eric Hojka
1990-91  David Bowman
1988-89  Jeff Sebille
1986-87  David Lang
1984-1985  John Gilbert
1983  Jim Purviance
1981-1982  David Woodley
1980  Doug Dederich
1978-1979  John Nelles
1974-1977  Doug Dederich
1973  Vern Windsor
1970-72  Tom Leslie, Steve Murphy
1968-69  John Gillenwater
1967 Vince Paxcia
1965 Bill Parisi
1962-64 Gerald Kesler, Bill Parisi
1961 Gerald Kesler
1958-60  Robert Glover
1957 Jack Glover, Robert Glover
1956 Jack Glover
1955 Ron Chesmore, Jack Glover
1954 Bob Clarke
1953  Jean Hedgelund, Nathan Ottens
1952 Rollie Bridge, Ray Bierschbach
1951  Theodore P. Stecher, Malcolm K. Westly
1950 Nate Ottens, Carmen Bonnacci
1948  Charles W. McKinley, Arno F. Kapper
1947  Daylon E. McConkay, Charles W. McKinley
1946 John DuMont
1945 Orley K. Anderson, Doris Lotts
1944  Charles Hudson
1943 Rose Day, Mary DuMont
1940  Jean Hedlund, James Burnside
1939  Jean Hedlund, Parley Wellstead
1937 Douglas Brookes, Pat Clemmensen, Parley Wellstead
1928 Floyd E. Barber
1925-26 Ernest H. Gerdes
1924 John A. Phillips
1923 R. J. Dushinske
1919 Joe Benge
1914 _____ Smith
1912-13 Guy W. Taylor
1910-11 Harvey W. Miner
1909 Walter T. Gutz
1906-97 J. E. Burgy
1905 A. C. Wallace
1903 R.V. Mills
1902 W. L. Baughn
1900 Frederick Henry Luhman
1899 Charles Goettsch
1892 H.C. Ring
1891 Charles Dutcher
1890 Milton I. Powers
1887 Don Love
1886 Julius Lischer

Drum Major Doug Dederich, 1975

Above: Doug Dederich, 1975

Our Hawkeye Marching Band Drum Majors train at the Smith-Walbridge Clinics.

(HMB alums: e-mail Dr. Eric Bush with the names of former HMB drum majors so we can expand this list!)

Drum Major Christian Frankl